Neutral Distillery

Plants for the mass production of neutral alcohol, which is then used as potable alcohol or for medicinal purposes, are often run continuously, which increases requirements and makes the manufacturing process both costly and time-consuming.

We don’t mind it, though. Instead, we make a game out of optimizing our plants, in order to reduce consumption levels to a minimum. We energetically optimize our plants in accordance with our clients‘ wishes.

The plants are controlled through our process control system and can be run from a separate control room with a master display. All relevant data are displayed centrally via computer visualization, which enables us to offer technical support around the clock and offer services like remote plant maintenance.

Our standard choice of products in this area include Siemens technology, as well as other, high quality, German manufacturers. Controls rely on the latest generation of Siemens SIMATIC.

All plants are available in standard sizes, which can be customized, depending on what our customers need.

Procedure

The sequencing of the columns is highly flexible, and can be varied based on energy efficiency, raw materials, quality standards and local conditions. Each column within a particular sequence serves a specific purpose.

First, the various alcohols contained in the base product, mash, are extracted, to then separate additional components, which can be conditioned in a detached section, to receive fusel oils, aldehydes and other sub-products.

The intermediate, alcoholic product, is then rectified and the alcohol concentration increased to the desired level. Finally an end cleaning process makes sure the product is as pure as can be, before it is passed on to filling, bottling and storage.

Raw Materials & Products

Possible starting materials include a wide range of biological raw materials, such as potatoes, molasses, grains or their derived products, such as syrup or dough.

The more starch and cellulose is contained in the starting materials, the higher the yield of industrial alcohol, raw alcohol and neutral alcohol.

Several distillation, refining and separation stages of the process lead to quite a few possibilities for final and byproducts.

Next to raw alcohol, industrial alcohol, pharmaceutical alcohol, neutral alcohol and bioethanol, fusel oils, aldehydes and even fertilizer, as well as biogas can be retrieved from the waste product, called slop.

Components

 

The distillery column, also called mash column, serves the extraction of the alcohol, contained in the mash. The ethanol can permeate the head of the column, the dealcoholized mash (called slop) leaves the column at the bottom, called sump.

 

Downstream of the distillery column, the hydro selection column (also called epyration column or flow column), separates byproducts from the distillate, before moving it on to rectification.

 

The fusel column or reconditioning column is where secondary products, which have been extracted in other columns, are redacted by increasing the concentration of fusel oils and aldehydes, which are then separated and bottled.

 

In the meantime, the rectification column condenses the incoming, pre-cleaned alcohol-water-mix to the final concentration.

 

Lastly, the final product runs through the methanol or end cleaning column. This column is necessary, if particularly high quality standards need to be met, regarding the share of methanol in the final product. This is where the methanol share is drastically reduced.

 

The dehydration is only part of the process in cases of pharmaceutical uses of the final product, and leads to a dehydrated, neutral alcohol, specifically for medicinal purposes.

 

Especially in GUS states a propanol column can become a prerequisite, since it is important to separate isopropanol from the final product for these locations. This column then reduces the isopropanol contents of the product by up to 40%.

Get a Quote

You work for gastronomy, the food industry, or the pharmaceutical industry?

You’re interested in sustainably producing neutral, pharmaceutical or industrial alcohol at scale?

Then you should talk to us. If you’re interested in one of our complete distillery plant installations for neutral alcohol or its parts, contact us today!

  • How do you imagine your project? Very important for us to know the size of the plant, the desired end product and the land where the plant is installed.

Neutralbrennerei

Anlagen zur Herstellung von Neutralalkohol, welcher dann als Trinkalkohol oder für medizinische Zwecke verwendet wird, werden oft kontinuierlich betrieben, was die Anforderungen an den Herstellungsprozess technisch sehr aufwendig macht.

Wir scheuen diesen Aufwand nicht, und streben danach die Verbrauchswerte unserer Anlagen auf ein Minimum zu reduzierten. Die Energieoptimierung der Anlagen erfolgt in Absprache mit dem Kunden.

Die Steuerung der Anlagen erfolgt über ein Prozessleitsystem aus einer Leitwarte heraus. Alle relevanten Werte werden anhand einer Visualisierung am PC dargestellt. So ist mittels Fernwartemodul jederzeit ein technischer Support möglich.

Wir setzen standardmäßig Produkte von Siemens und anderen hochwertigen deutschen Herstellern ein. Die Steuerung erfolgt über eine Siemens SIMATIC der neuesten Generation.

Die Anlagen sind in Standardgrößen lieferbar, welche flexibel auf die Bedürfnisse des Kunden angepasst werden können.

Verfahren

Je nach Energieeffizienz, Rohstoff, Qualitätsanforderungen und den örtlichen Gegebenheiten ist eine Anlage mit unterschiedlichen Kolonnenschaltungen möglich. Jede Kolonne innerhalb einer Schaltung erfüllt einen bestimmten Zweck.

Zunächst werden die in der Maische, dem Ausgangsprodukt, enthalten Alkohole gewonnen, bevor Nebenbestandteile abgeschieden und in einem separaten Aufbearbeitungsbereich zu Fuselölen, Aldehyden und anderen Anwendungen verarbeitet werden.

Das alkoholische Zwischenprodukt wird dann rektifiziert und die Konzentration des Alkohols auf den gewünschten Grad erhöht. Abschließend erfolg eine Endreinigung, bevor das Produkt zur Abfüllung und Lagerung übertragen wird.

Rohstoffe & Produkte

Als Ausgangsstoff kann eine Vielzahl biologischer Grund- und Rohstoffe verwendet werden, wie z.B. Kartoffeln, Melasse, Getreide oder deren verarbeitete Folgeprodukte, wie z.B. Sirup oder Teig.

Je stärke- und zellulosehaltiger die Ausgangsprodukte sind, desto größer ist die Ausbeute an Feinsprit, Rohalkohol und Neutralsprit.

Der mehrstufige Destillations-, Veredelungs- und Abtrennungsprozess liefert einige von Möglichkeiten für End- und Nebenprodukte.

Neben Rohalkohol, Feinsprit, Pharmasprit, Neutralalkohl und Bioethanol lassen sich Fuselöle, Aldehyde und auch Produkte wie z.B. Dünger und Biogas aus der Schlempe gewinnen.

Komponenten

 

Die Destillierkolonne oder Maischekolonne dient zur Gewinnung der in der Maische enthaltenen Alkohole. Der Alkohol entweicht über den Kopf der Kolonne, die entalkoholisierte Maische (=Schlempe) verlässt die Kolonne am Sumpf.

 

Nachgeschaltet wird ihr die Hydroselektionskolonne (auch Epyrationskolonne oder Vorlaufkolonne genannt). Diese hat den Zweck, Nebenbestandteile aus dem Destillat der Maischekolonne abzuscheiden, bevor es zur Rektifikation weitergeleitet wird.

 

In der Fuselkolonne oder Aufarbeitungskolonne werden anschließend die Nebenfraktionen, welche in den restlichen Kolonnen abgeschieden werden wieder aufgearbeitet, indem gezielt Fuselöle und Aldehyde in hoher Konzentration abgetrennt werden.

 

Währenddessen konzentriert die Rektifikationskolonne das zulaufende, vorgereinigte Alkohol-Wassergemisch auf die Endproduktkonzentration.

 

Letztlich durchläuft das Endprodukt die Methanol- oder Endreinigungskolonne. Diese ist notwendig, wenn besonders hohe Qualitätsanforderungen bezüglich des Methanolgehalts vorliegen. Hier wird dann der Methanolgehalt erheblich reduziert.

 

Die Dehydration erfolgt nur im Pharmabereich und dient zur Entwässerung des Neutralalkohols, insbesondere für pharmakologische Anwendungen und medizinische Zwecke.

 

Insbesondere in den GUS – Staaten kann eine Propanolkolonne erforderlich werden, da hier besonderen Wert darauf gelegt wird, das Isopropanol abzutrennen. Es erfolgt in dieser Kolonne eine Reduzierung des Isopropanolgehalts um bis zu 40%.

Budgetangebot anfordern

Sie sind in der Gastronomie, Lebensmittelindustrie, oder Pharmabranche tätig?

Die nachhaltige Erzeugung von Neutral-, Pharma- und Feinsprit interessiert Sie?

Wenn Sie Interesse an einer unserer Komplettanlagen zu Herstellung von Neutralalkohol oder deren Teilkomponenten haben, dann kontaktieren Sie uns!

  • Wie können wir uns Ihr Projekt vorstellen? Sehr wichtig für uns zu wissen sind die Anlagengröße, das gewünschte Endprodukt und das Land, in der die Anlage aufgestellt wird.